Employers are required by law to report occupational accidents – in which an employee is killed or three or more are hospitalized – to OSHA within eight hours. You must also report a serious (possibly life threatening) accident to Minnesota Workers Comp within 48 hours.
To report to MNOSHA:
During business hours – 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m., Monday through Friday – call your local area Minnesota OSHA office:
- Duluth (218) 733-7830
- Mankato (507) 389-6507
- St. Paul (651) 284-5050 or 1-877-470-6742
After business hours call the federal OSHA 24-hour toll-free phone number: 1-800-321-6742.
Minnesota Workers’ Comp requires that fatalities and serious injuries be reported within 48 hours from notice or knowledge. To file a report, call 651-284-5041 or fax 651-284-5731.